Nicholas Nelsen
Nicholas Nelsen

B.S. student, 2017 Goldwater Scholar; Wentz Research Scholar (2017-2018); Niblack Research Scholar (2016-2017)

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering; Mathematics

E-mail: nnelsen@okstate.edu

Nick is a senior undergraduate student whose current research interests include vortex dynamics, computational fluid dynamics (CFD), fluid-structure interaction, biofluid mechanics, and mathematical modeling. He is investigating how altering aortic pressure impacts the left ventricular filling vortex.

Indah Merkel
Indah Merkel

B.S. student, Niblack Research Scholar (2016-2017)

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

E-mail: indah.merkel@okstate.edu

Indah is a third year undergraduate student whose research interests are in biomimetics and bioengineering. She is studying the role of pleopod flexibility in metachronal swimming.

Mitchell Ford
Mitchell Ford

B.S. student, Wentz Research Scholar (2017-2018)

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

E-mail: mitchell.ford@okstate.edu

Mitch is a senior undergraduate student with research interests in aerodynamics and propulsion. He is currently working on upgrading the lab flapping flight simulator to incorporate three-dimensional wing motion kinematics.

Skyler Jacob
Skyler Jacob

B.S. student, Wentz Research Scholar (2017-2018), CEAT Scholar

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

E-mail: skyler.jacob@okstate.edu

Skyler is a sophomore engineering student interested in the design of unmanned aerial vehicles. He is exploring research projects in insect flight.

Blake Baber
Blake Baber

B.S. student, Wentz Research Scholar (2017-2018)

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

E-mail: blake.baber@okstate.edu

Blake is a senior undergraduate student interested in fluid dynamics and aerodynamics. He is working on developing robotic krill.

Alice Montague
Alice Montague

B.S. student

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

E-mail: alice.montague@okstate.edu

Alice is a third-year undergraduate student interested in 3D printing and artificial organs. She is working on upgrading the lab left ventricular flow phantom to generate dyssynchronous wall motion.

Javier Altamirano
Javier Altamirano

B.S. student

Chemical Engineering

E-mail: javier.i.altamirano@okstate.edu

Javier is a third-year undergraduate student with research interests in biological transport phenomena and fluid dynamics. He is working on characterizing pleopod kinematics of metachronal swimming in ghost shrimp using high-speed video.